Councillors & Clerk & Other Information

This web page contains information in respect of the historical aspect, together with the present day Caerwys Town Council. Including details of the elected and co-opted Councillors’ – sub committees, and contact details for the Town Clerk & Financial Officer

The reorganisation of local government in 1974 saw the end in Wales of Parish Councils and the emergence of new bodies – Community Councils. The Local Government Act, 1972, which was responsible for this re-organisation, also provided Community Councils with the option of resolving to become Town Councils, with the Chairperson being entitled to the status of Town Mayor. At the first meeting of the newly constituted Caerwys Community Council held on the 9th April, 1974, the Council unanimously resolved to opt for the title of Town Council, with its Chairperson being styled as Town Mayor. At this meeting it was further unanimously agreed to appoint Councillor Elwyn Vaughan Parry, a lifelong resident of the town – to be elected Caerwys’ first Mayor.

Present Day Information On The Town Council
At the present time there are eleven members of Caerwys Town Council, who are residents of Caerwys Town itself, together with members from the communities of Afonwen and Pen-y-Cefn. However, every Town Councillor is elected to serve the whole community. Details of meetings; The Town Council meetings are held on the third Tuesday of the month ( except December and August ) and commence at 7.00 pm. Meetings are held in the Caerwys Memorial Institute. Residents and members of the press are welcome to attend the meetings. Non scheduled meetings are also held in an emergency or possibly in relation to an urgent planning application – especially during the months of December and August.

Planning Applications:
The Town Council is not a planning authority and as such does not make final decisions on planning applications; this is the responsibility of Flintshire County Council. However, the Town Council is a statutory consultee and as such receives all planning applications relating to the community. The Town Council do make their respective comments and suggestions on the planning applications, including requesting site meetings.

Street Lighting:
The street lighting in the Caerwys Town Council area, is administered jointly between the Town Council and Flintshire County Council. The street lights on the adopted housing estate roads, are the responsibility of Flintshire County Council. Whereas the street lighting, generally sited on the roadsides, and in particular, the streets of Caerwys Town, are the responsibility of Caerwys Town Council.

Apart from the Llys y Pentre Estate, where the street lighting is the responsibility of Flintshire County Council, all other street lights in Afonwen are administered by the Caerwys Town Council.

Caerwys Town
The following street lights are administered by Flintshire County Council – Cae Delyn, Erw Las, Ffordd Angharad, Llys Pendre, Llys y Goron, Lon Syr Herbert, Lon yr Ysgol, Maes y Dre, Parc Hafod, Park Grove, St. Michael’s Close, and St. Michael’s Drive. All other street lights are the responsibility of Caerwys Town Council.

Pen y Cefn
All streets lights in the Pen y Cefn area, are administered by Caerwys Town Council.

Report a faulty street light
Please report any identified Caerwys Town Council faulty street lights, either to a Town Councillor, or the Clerk to the Council ( contact details at bottom of this page ). The street lighting that is indicated above on the various housing estates, is the responsibility of the Flintshire County Council. Please report this fault, by either calling 01352 701234, or e-mail the Street Scene Department on:

Members Of The Town Council

Town Mayor
Councillor Jayne Morris
01352 – 721331

Deputy Town Mayor
Councillor Steve Copple (Ind)
01352 – 720876

Councillor Susan A. Broadaway (Ind)
01352 – 720897

Councillor Andy Delooze *
07831 – 444848

Councillor Richard Dolphin *
07526 – 515873

Councillor Peter Dooley*
07468 – 484817

Councillor Jonathan E. Duggan-Keen (Ind)
01352 – 720477

Councillor Lynette Edwards (Ind)
01352 – 720531

Councillor Gwen Jones
01352 – 720886

Councillor Lesley Roberts *
07368 – 501456

Councillor Judith Standring *
01352 – 720669

(*Co-opted Members)

All Council business, including correspondence and telephone enquiry calls
should be directed to:

R. Phillip Parry,
Town Clerk and Financial Officer To Caerwys Town Council,
Ty Cornel,
51 St. Michael’s Drive,
CH7 5BS.

Telephone: 01352 – 720547


List of Council Members who serve on Local Committees and Outside Bodies

Caerwys Memorial Institute Management Committee
Councillors’ Lesley Roberts & Judith Standring

Caerwys Town Hall Trustees
Councillor Andy Delooze

Flintshire County Council – Forum
Councillors’ Susan Broadaway & Andy Delooze

FLUSH Committee (Public Conveniences)
Councillor Lynette Edwards

Planning Sub Committee
All Members of The Council

North Wales Association of Town and Larger Councils
Councillor Lynette M. Edwards

North Wales Police (Flintshire – Police and Community
Consultative Group / Neighbourhood Watch)

Councillors’ Susan Broadaway & Jonathan E. Duggan-Keen

West Flintshire Town & Community Working Group
Councillor Steve Copple

Ysgol Yr Esgob, Caerwys – School Governing Body
Councillor Gwen Jones